How it works

The Global Hack is an online hackathon designed to share and rapidly develop ideas for urgently needed solutions in the face of the current crisis, as well as to build resilience post-pandemic.

Our prize pool for the best ideas is 195k euros.

The Global Hack has already drawn attention across the globe - covered by Forbes, Silicon Republic, CNN among others - and brought on board a fleet of world-class mentors, such as Sam Altman, CEO of OpenAI, former President of Estonia Toomas Hendrik Ilves and Khaliya - public health specialist and a neuro-technologist.

Share Ideas

Idea submission is now open! Join our Slack community to post and discuss ideas, get feedback, find teammates and get inspired.

Join slack
Register Team

Once you’ve found an attractive idea, assemble a team of 2-12 dedicated people with the necessary skills. The team leader must now officially register in Devpost

CLOSED
Submit for Evaluation

Upload a video demo of the prototype explaining the problem being solved and how, impact and validation to Guaana. Links will become available later on.

Closed

Timeline

Let's get ideas going in Slack
Register your idea on devpost
Team announced and Hackathon Starts
April 9
The hackathon Ends
April 11
Evaluation on Guaana
April 11
Demos & Awards
April 12

Agenda

Checkpoints (updated April 8 UTC 14:40):

Checkpoint 1

April 9: Americas 15:00 PT; 18:00 EDT (17:00 UTC-5)
April 10: Europe, Mdl-East & Africa 10:00 CEST (10:00 UTC+2)
April 10: Asia/Australia 11:00 ASEAN Common Time (10:00 UTC+7)

Checkpoint 2

April 10: Americas 08:00 PT 11:00 EDT; (10:00 UTC-5)
April 10: Europe, Mdl-East & Africa 17:00 CEST (17:00 UTC+2)
April 10: Asia/Australia 18:00 ASEAN Common Time (17:00 UTC+7)

Checkpoint 3

April 10: Americas 15:00 PT; 18:00 EDT (17:00 UTC-5)
April 11: Europe, Mdl-East & Africa 10:00 CEST (10:00 UTC+2)
April 11: Asia/Australia 11:00 ASEAN Common Time (10:00 UTC+7)

01.04 Wednesday

Ideation in Slack

04.04 Saturday

Registration opens in Devpost (see Guidelines)

  • Team Lead registers idea and team of at-least 2 people
  • Your team has to be functional – it must include all roles necessary to build your hackathon project
  • Be sure to include Team Leads contact details, country and timezone for scheduling checkpoints

09.04 Thursday

12:00 UTC Registration closes

13:00 UTC Announcing accepted teams (via Slack)

  • Approved teams can start hacking whenever they want
  • Team leads create private channels for their teams in our Slack workspace

13:00 UTC Grand Opening Ceremony Broadcast (via Youtube Live

Opening Ceremonies for all Tracks (Track Organisers will specify)

  • Track leads introduced
  • Overview of agenda, mentors, rules and guidelines

14:15 UTC Start hacking!

10.04 Friday

Checkpoint 1

Note, the checkpoints are mandatory – if the Team Lead does not represent their team at the checkpoint or if the team arrives later than the first checkpoint on Friday they will not run for prizes and be part on the finals. This is why it’s crucial to be on Slack as well submitting your timezone during project registration in Devpost

  • 3 min video session with your dedicated Team Mentor (will be in contact with you via Slack prior to checkpoint)
  • If Zoom is unavailable Team Mentor may use any link-based video conferencing service that doesn’t need downloading (like Jitsi, Hangouts, Skype etc)
Checkpoint 2
  • 3 min video session with your dedicated Team Mentor (will be in contact with you via Slack prior to checkpoint)

11.04 Saturday

07:00 - 13:00 UTC Prototype submission
  • Teams submit answers to short questionnaire
  • Upload videos to a dedicated video platform (Youtube, Vimeo etc) and share link in submission on Guaana (links TBA via Slack)
Checkpoint 3
  • 3 min video session with your dedicated Team Mentor (will be in contact with you via Slack prior to checkpoint)
  • Be ready to show a demo

13:00 UTC Hackathon finishes

  • Final results have to be submitted by 13:00
  • Mentors start evaluating submissions

17:00 UTC Track closing ceremonies

Video presentations from top teams from track + Top 3 per track announced, going to overall finals from:

  • Economy & Environment
  • Empowerment & Solidarity
  • Work & Education
  • Governance
  • Creativity & Media

12.04 Sunday

08:00 UTC Track closing ceremonies

Video presentations from top teams from track + Top 3 per track announced, going to overall finals from:

  • Crisis Response
  • Health & Wellness
  • Mental Health

13:00 UTC The Global Hack finals and Closing Ceremony (via Zoom)

  • Winners for each track announced
  • Overall winner announced by Grand Jury (TBA)

13.04 Monday

Sleep